Quick Answer: What Are The Requirements For Second Class Scout?

What Boy Scout rank is second after Scout?

Scouts BSA has seven ranks: Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life and Eagle..

Can a girl become an Eagle Scout?

On October 11, 2017, the Boy Scouts of America announced that in 2019, a program for older girls would begin to be available, enabling girls to earn the rank of Eagle Scout. 52,160 Eagle Scout awards were presented in 2018, 6.5 percent of the eligible 2018 membership.

What percentage of Scouts make life?

Since its inception in 1911, only four percent of Scouts have earned this rank after a lengthy review process.

What is the First Class Scout badge?

The first class scout badge is obtained after one has completed the Tenderfoot and Second Class Ranks. … This shows that a Scout is able to point the right way in life as truly as the compass points it in the field. THREE POINTS: The three points of the trefoil are like the three fingers used in the Scout sign.

How do you become a First Class Scout?

First Class Rank Requirements:Since joining Scouts BSA, participate in 10 separate troop/patrol activities, at least six of which must be held outdoors. … Help plan a menu for one of the above campouts that includes at least one breakfast, one lunch, and one dinner, and that requires cooking at least two of the meals.More items…

Do Boy Scouts learn to shoot guns?

A: Yes, pistol shooting and high-power rifle shooting are reserved for youth who are involved in the Venturing and Sea Scouting programs only. Venturers and Sea Scouts may shoot any caliber of firearm. FULLY AUTOMATIC firearms are prohibited in the Boy Scouts of America program.

What are the requirements for life scout?

Life Rank RequirementsBe active in your troop for at least six months as a Star Scout.As a Star Scout, demonstrate Scout spirit by living the Scout Oath and Scout Law. … Earn five more merit badges (so that you have 11 in all), including any three additional badges from the required list for Eagle.More items…

How long do you have to be a First Class Scout?

The number of Scouts achieving First Class within one year of joining is still one of the key measures of unit effectiveness. Studies have shown that if a Scout achieves First Class within a year of joining, he typically stays in the Scout program for at least three years.

Was Bill Gates an Eagle Scout?

While Bill Gates is a Life Scout, his father, William Sr., is an Eagle Scout. In 2010, Gates was honored by the Boy Scouts with the Silver Buffalo award for his service to the youth.

Is there a rank higher than Eagle Scout?

Life is the second-highest rank attainable, above Star and below Eagle. Life is awarded when the Scout serves actively in the troop, team or crew, serves in a position of responsibility for six months, and performs six hours of community service.

How hard is it to get Eagle Scout?

It is fairly difficult, which explains why only 4% of boys who join Scouting attain this rank. One needs 21 merit badges, 13 of which are required for Eagle; a minimum of 6 months as a Life Scout; and to have completed a leadership community service project.

What are the requirements for the Scout rank?

Scout Rank Requirements:Repeat from memory the Scout Oath, Scout Law, Scout motto, and Scout slogan. … Explain what Scout spirit is. … Demonstrate the Scout sign, salute, and handshake. … Describe the First Class Scout badge and tell what each part stands for. … Repeat from memory the Outdoor Code.More items…